Cesu Agreements

There are 17 CESUs throughout the country and the University of Florida is a member of 3 that are the Gulf Coast, the Piedmont-coast of the South Atlantic and the South Caribbean. Each CESU has its own master`s contract, which is signed by all members. The guidelines for sponsors specify whether the proposal can be submitted under a CESU and whether the work funded under these agreements is limited to 17.5% indirect costs. Federal authorities participate in CESUs as part of their respective functions and administrative structure. The federal authorities are significantly involved in the activities of the CESU and work closely with host universities and/or partner institutions in the areas of research, technical assistance and education. The collaboration of several federal agencies with institutional staff significantly increases the potential for cost-sharing, efficiency improvements and cooperative activities. Cooperation projects between agencies are encouraged and facilitated by the agreements of these agreements. The nature and context of agency staff working with CESUs vary depending on the Agency`s responsibility and requirements. Some people may be researchers, others may be scientific administrators or specialists in resource/environmental management. Federal public servants stationed at a host university can conduct research; Act as mediators in providing research, technical assistance and education to federal managers and partners in the area of resources/environment; Involve the faculties and skills of host universities in common activities; Teach advanced courses and to work on postgraduate committees. Field scientists (for example. B in a national park or forest) may be linked to the CESU through the host university or a partner institution. Federal authorities retain administrative oversight of the network and the participation of federal authorities in a CESU does not alter previous agreements or cooperation agreements.

CESUs provide additional opportunities for interdisciplinary and multi-institutional projects. NOTE: Although the management agreements do not contain an indirect cost base, the UF systematically applies an MTDC database in accordance with the U.S. Department of the Interior`s DOI-AAAP-0007 directive. This directive states that the only diversion authorization programs are the Cooperative Ecosystem Studies Unit Network and the Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research Unit Program. In addition, all derogations from the indirect cost rate negotiated by the federal government must be used on the same basis as that identified in the negotiated agreement on the recipient`s indirect cost rate. The MTDC base should therefore be applied to all work funded under one of the master`s contracts described above. The BOEM Coastal Marine Institute (CMI), along with Louisiana State University (LSU) and the University of Alaska at Fairbanks (UAF), was designed to meet BOEM`s local needs and interests in local information and expertise in the relevant Outer Continental Shelf (OCS) disciplines.